Ruth Johnson Memorial Program Award

SDUCPTA is now accepting applications for the Ruth Johnson Memorial Program Award.  The deadline to apply is April 28, 2023. 

To apply, complete this online application. The application must include:

  • a written description of the program (approximately 250 words)
  • up to three artifacts from the program (e.g., flyers, website screenshots, photographs from the event, marketing materials).

Ruth Johnson was a lifetime PTA member, leader, mentor, and advocate for children who was passionate about creating programs that engaged students and parents. SDUCPTA’s Ruth Johnson Memorial Program Award was created in her honor to annually recognize outstanding PTA programs in San Diego Unified.  Winning PTA units are given a prize of $100 to support their work in creating and continuing successful programs.

To be eligible for the Ruth Johnson Memorial Program Award, a program must meet the following requirements:

  • Serves all students
  • Is innovative and creative
  • Offers roles for parent engagement
  • Was promoted at a time convenient to families
  • Is managed by a PTA unit in good standing

The following PTA programs have been awarded the Ruth Johnson Memorial Award.

2021 – Click on this link to learn more about each of these programs.

  • Joyner Jaguars PTSA – WeeCARE Package
  • Edward Hardy PTA – Tune Your Engine
  • Barnard PTA – Science Night 

Honorary Service Awards

Service awards are awarded throughout the year and designed as a unique way for PTA units, councils, and districts to publicly acknowledge both individuals and organizations for outstanding community service to children and youth in their community. All funds collected with this program are used exclusively to support the California State PTA scholarship and grant programs. Download our brochure for more information.

Honorary Service Awards (HSA) are available to recognize the service and dedication of both individuals and organizations. Contributions to the HSA Program provide funds for the California State PTA Scholarship and Grant Program. The recipients should be recognized for outstanding service to children and youth and are usually presented to others beyond the outgoing officers. Consider those who work behind the scenes, quietly and efficiently serving youth.

The following groups or individuals have been recognized for their dedication to the children of San Diego Unified School District.

2021Very Special PersonZachary PattersonCouncil Climate Chair
2021Honorary Service AwardZachary PattersonFirst Student Representative on the Council PTA
Honorary Service AwardMahogany TaylorCouncil President
Very Special PersonSarah McKnightCouncil Treasurer
2020Continuing Service AwardDerick BoernerPast Council President
Very Special PersonLove ZubillerChair, Reflections
2019Honorary Service AwardKate McDevittSDUSD Wellness Coordinator
Honorary Service AwardDerick BoernerCouncil President
Continuing Service AwardBrian BonnerPast Council President
2018Golden OakBarbara PelusoPast Council President – PTA Advocate
Honorary Service AwardMoira AlbrittonSpecial Ed Advocate
Very Special PersonChristina AbueloSchool Garden – Sherman Elementary
2017Continuing Service AwardPeter “Derby” PattengillPast Council President
Honorary Service AwardGabriela Contreras-MisiriogluPTA member and Student Advocate
Honorary Service AwardSDUSD Print Services Department
2016Very Special PersonLinda ZintzPTA supporter/ SDUSD Communications Director
Honorary Service AwardBea FernandezPTA Parent Engagement
Honorary Service AwardBetsy MuellerPTA Council Leader
Honorary Service AwardMick RabinDistrict – Student Equity
2015Honorary Service AwardCeleste Bobryk-OzakiCouncil President
Honorary Service AwardLaura SchumacherClimate Action Resolution Author/ Past Council President
Honorary Service AwardAlliance San DiegoNon-profit supporting the community
2014Very Special PersonJanet DavéClairemont High/ Clairemont Cluster PTA Leader
Honorary Service AwardCesar E. Chavez Commemoration Committee